Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the works of their own countries instead of the works of art from other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ancient times and cultures have been kept well for centuries by museums. However, it triggers a heated debate whether a state should focus on their own historical events rather than diversifying on other histories around the globe. I believe that the first statement has strong ground although it is true that one should be aware of other arts and past events. Some say that it is beneficial for individuals to acquire knowledge about different cultures and their origins. Local art galleries have made it possible for each citizen to have the chance of witnessing foreign artworks created by notable artists. This has aroused attention especially for the youngsters who take it as a drive to enhance their talents and knowledge. Also, some people are encouraged to learn more from other countries such as their way of living and even the languages they speak. As an illustration, in my country, a considerable number of people are inspired by the foreign artist, Vincent Van Gogh whose works are displayed almost in every popular museum. Nevertheless, one should not jeopardize their own works and way of life. A nation should at any cost strive to preserve it. Each generation must be concerned about its roots. For instance, many museums neglect artworks created from their own blood because they cannot compete with foreign ones. On the contrary, when it comes to tourism, they are usually more interested in looking for local works. It attracts their attention because they want to learn more about the country they are visiting. Consequently, this could contribute to monetary resources and boosting the economy respectively. This system proves to be way more fruitful than exposing works abroad. In conclusion, there are certainly more reasons for museums and art galleries to display local arts but that does not mean that they should neglect foreign works.