Many small businesses are being forced to close because they are unable to compete with multinational corporations. What problems does this cause and how can those problems be solved?

There are more and more small businesses that are encountering challenges with survival due to their limited resources to compete with multinational corporations. This is the counterproductive outcome of globalisation. This essay will delve into the phenomenon in a comprehensive manner before discussing possible solutions. Initially, multinational corporations have more resources to promote their business growth. Take Netflix, for example, the company has sufficient resources to gather famous actors and actresses to produce popular movies or series, which contributes to global success. Moreover, the development of technology has broken the geographical and language barriers between companies from different countries. This not only benefits small businesses but also accelerates the expansion of multinational corporations. Thanks to the significant gap between both sides, small companies have no choice but to close. To alleviate this tendency, governmental support plays an indispensable role. The government should launch relevant procedures to support the weaker parties. For example, authorities can provide small companies with favourable policies, such as lower taxes. In addition, the government can assist them in improving their products by offering free lessons. Employers should also take initiatives to seek support from the government or other business partners. To sum up, despite the fact that globalisation has led to the success of multinational corporations, the survival of small companies cannot be ignored. The government should work with small companies so as to create long-term benefits for citizens.