Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When social pressure is getting heavier and heavier, more and more parents have become career-oriented, and they want their children to learn academic knowledge very thoroughly to pass exams. That is why many of them, even some educators, want to remove some soft skills courses out of curricular. However, I am afraid I have to disagree with that opinion. Indeed, we live in a knowledge-based society where even professions that do not reasonably require specialist skills are beginning to require a tertiary qualification. Nevertheless, suppose parents only pay attention to the written-out part of the recruitment criteria and ignore the hidden requirements demanded of employees. In that case, they fall into the trap of qualification involvement. All employers want a well-rounded and knowledgeable employee, and they suppose every one has some soft skills, so they do not mention them in their requirements. For instance, when they screen out the more well-educated competitors and come to the interview, it is time to test the applicants' soft skills by dressing professionally. Moreover, each student has a gift in different areas, which means some children may not become university students ever, even with tremendous efforts. If schools have other courses to teach students living skills, like cooking, that helps them find out what field they are interested and talented in and therefore enables them to make a wise and well-informed decision later in life regarding careers, like chefs. Personally, I believe that children need to learn a wide range of subjects, so they would have a chance to choose their field. For other subjects, having a basic understanding of them can also be helpful in the future.