Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Nowadays, older adults do not take regular exercise, and this phenomenon arouses doctors’ attention. This is because they lack exercise knowledge, and this situation can be changed by hiring well-experienced coaches for these seniors. Elderly people do not get regular exercise because of insufficient training. To begin with, the elderly are not well-educated about the benefits of exercise, leading to a lack of knowledge about their true needs. Consequently, they might show low interest in sports activities and a lack of motivation. In addition, during exercise, they don’t know how to exert force correctly, which may cause muscle damage. As a result, they are worried about the potential danger they might face and this concern makes them unwilling to take exercise. For example, a recent survey about human health showed that over 50% of older people feel reluctant to take exercise due to a lack of knowledge. This issue can be addressed by employing well-trained sports teachers. Well-experienced coaches have sufficient and professional experience. This means they can help the elderly understand the benefits of exercise by giving reasonable advice and strengthening their confidence by showing similar cases in the past. Hence, they can easily accept the sports plans and make changes. Meanwhile, trainers can tailor fitness plans according to personal preferences and competence, for example doing low-intensity training mainly. They can also teach them the right way to exercise and protect them from danger during exercise, which will alleviate older people’s concerns about getting hurt. For example, an article from Google Scholar said that older people become more willing to take regular exercise regularly and much more confident after they have private coaches during exercise. In conclusion, doctors have found that senior citizens avoid exercising owing to insufficient knowledge about sports. However, this can be fixed by hiring well-experienced coaches.