It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Teaching youngsters the difference between right and wrong at an early age is vital hence punishing them will assist them to put this into practice. I totally agree with this statement because disciple is a good way of educating anyone not overdoing it. Parents and educators should teach children good behavior by demonstrating what should be done or they may allow the kids to watch some video and pictures that best explain what is expected of them. While it is agreeable that guardians should punish their babies to do good and not bad things, it should be noted that some elders overdo the punishments. Further, they go to the extent of hurting the child, which is improper, and this can be called child abuse. In addition, other guardians, beat the little one until they hurt or damage them in the name of “disciplining them”. For example, in India, a stepfather was imprisoned for almost killing his stepson because he was always rude to his wife. He told him that he was going to teach him a lesson by disciplining him until he broke him arm and almost killed him. It must be noted that over disciplining children is not recommended. Demonstration is usually the best way of showing somebody what to do. They say, ‘ monkey see, monkey do.’ Children learn many things by coping and seeing. Firstly, elders should make sure that their babies watch proper films. If they are exposed to violent films or movies, they too will follow suite. Secondly, it is paramount for parents to live exemplary lives so that the little ones may copy the good way of living from them. For instance, if a child sees their elderly always fighting and shouting at each other, they too will practice that will other students at school. Conversely, if one sees their mother and father resolving issues in love and understanding, they too will do likewise. Hence, it is paramount for the moms and dads to learn never to demonstrate their negative behaviours in front of their kids. To conclude, discipline is paramount for young ones to learn the difference between right and wrong. However, as much as I agree that punishment is good for them, it should never be overdone. Moreso, demonstration of good deeds should be done by parents to their children and additional, what kids watch should be monitored so that they are not exposed to violence which they may in turn, put into practice.