There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes being committed each year. While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both views.

There is a massive / significant increase in the number of serious crimes these days. Although some people believe that death penalty is the most effective way to deter horrendous crimes, others argue that other measures will be required. In my opinion, death penalty is a deterrent only when it is certain. In countries like India where capital punishment is awarded only in the rarest of the rare cases, death penalty has not been particularly effective at preventing heinous crimes. Death penalty does not always deter criminals. For example, in India death penalty is awarded only in extreme cases. When someone commits a murder, they do not expect to get the death sentence. In the vast majority of cases, they do not get it either. Hence, there is no real decrease in the number of crimes. This is not the situation in countries like Saudi Arabia where you can get sure death even for minor offences. For death penalty to be effective, it must be certain. When people know beforehand that they will get death for committing certain crimes, they will think twice or thrice before executing the criminal act. In such situations death penalty is certainly effective at curbing crime. However, there are several humanitarian and moral concerns regarding capital punishment. For one thing, it is immoral. No one, not even the government, has the right to take another life. Other forms of punishment like prolonged imprisonment, in my opinion, are more effective at preventing serious crimes. No one wants to live in captivity. If the law has provisions to keep a murderer, terrorist or rapist behind bars for life, we will definitely witness a drop in the number of serious crimes being committed. In many countries now life imprisonment lasts only 7 or 10 years and then convicts can walk free. This has to change. Those who commit serious offences like pre-meditated murder should be confined to the prison for the rest of their life. This will not only make the society safer but also discourage serious crimes to a great extent. In conclusion, death penalty will be effective at reducing crimes if everyone who commits a serious offence gets it. Unfortunately, this is barbaric. In my opinion, it is better to keep serious offenders in prison for considerably long periods than executing them.