Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effects does this have people, what are the demerits and what are the job opportunities?

Nowadays, people increasingly prefer to shop online and have their orders delivered to their doorsteps. This is obviously an easier means for people as it eases a lot of stress, but has a few disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss the demerits associated with the uprise in shopping online as well as the available jobs in virtual business. To start with, discussing the drawbacks associated with this trend of buying groceries and other necessities, it is crucial to mention the increased chance of not receiving exactly what is ordered. That is, in most cases one may receive a product which is inferior to what is displayed on the site. Additionally, there are severally cases of buying clothes or footwear that do not fit. An example is when a buyer orders a pair of sneakers from Amazon, often the sizes are not the same for every shoe brand, while some provide accurate size guides, many other brands do not. Consequently, in a quest to return a product that does not fit, one may encounter hassles and delays. Contrarily, there are notable job opportunities available in virtual businesses, which include customer and sales representatives (call centre), dispatch riders, new product testers (food, electronics) etc. Evidently, dispatch riders have such an opportunity due to the tremendous increase in orders made by individuals with gadgets. For instance, Deliveroo, UberEATS, Glovo and other delivery companies have emerged over the years since everyone now prefers to purchase groceries, MacDonalds, KFC, Domino etc. from the comfort of their homes and expect swift deliveries, not minding the extra pay. Thus, leading to increased needs and recruitments of dispatch riders. In conclusion, e-shopping is inevitably on the rise with the advancement in technology, though there are negative impacts of this on people, it also comes with job availabilities for youngsters.