Today due to advanced medicine, people are living longer. Therefore, the number of elders is expected to exceed that of young people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, down to the blessing of contemporary medical science, human beings can live in this world for a longer period compared to the past. Consequently, the number of senior citizens would be larger than the number of youngsters has come along with a number of upsides, together with downsides. However, I wholeheartedly deem that having a large number of old people is more of a blow on the grounds that a country has to spend more money for taking care of them, and with a low number of workforces, it is next to impossible to complete in the ferocious global market. One of the predominant disadvantages of having a huge number of elderly people is that the government of a state needs to spend money on different facilities, especially, dedicated for them, such as building old age homes, providing special incentives for medical treatments, to name but a few. As a consequence, that country will face a shortage of funds for investing in more pressing social issues, namely, education, health, security, and suchlike, causing discontent among the public. To cite an example, in South Africa, the social benefit amount for the advanced age people is higher than the benefit amount for the unemployed people, resulting in the increasing number of violent activities. Therefore, the higher the number of elderly people, the higher will be governments’ investment in the unproductive field, engendering many social issues. Another decisive downside of having a low number of young people is that a nation cannot compete in the dog-eat-dog world with these human resources. In other words, if a country has a large number of adolescents, it is possible to boost the economy by applying their state-of-the-art knowledge, expertise, skills, to mention but a few, leading a country to become a developed and independent state. On the contrary, with a large number of unproductive elderly people, it is not possible to develop new things and compete with other countries. To exemplify, China has become the leader of all other states only because of productive juveniles. In conclusion, having a large number of elderly people indubitably results in numerous drawbacks. Hence, from my point of view, the edges, if there is any, are far outweighed by the downsides.