Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extend do you agree ?

Certain individuals believe that doing community service would be more beneficial to offenders than being imprisoned for long periods of time. They argue that wrongdoers will have the opportunity to rehabilitate and the process of reintegration would be easier for them. I fully agree with the above statement and I think that both the prisoner and the society will benefit from it. Although it might not be suitable for those who have committed more serious crimes such as murderer and sexual offences, serving the community and doing wageless jobs can lead to positive impacts on juvenile delinquents. For example, if a young person has been convicted to be imprisoned as a result of committing an act of crime, the court can alter the verdict by ordering the individual to attend an apprenticeship program. This will not only enable him to gain marketable skills but also boosts his self-confidence and will increase his productivity. The positive contribution to society will create a sense of fulfilment in the person and would facilitate the process of rehabilitation. Furthermore, that will save the government a huge amount of money, because the costs associated with the maintenance of jails and inmates are relatively high. In addition, Longer imprisonments cause the inmates to be isolated from the community. this marginalization deprives them of the chance to be re-educated because they do not have access to the learning materials in jails. consequently, once they are released, they find it difficult to fully integrate and this may compel them to commit further offences. Therefore it is in the full interest of them and also the country to encourage perpetrators to be engaged in activities that will help them to maintain their connection with the outside world. For instance, having access to a library that offers books and magazines, is an effective way of keeping up to date with current affairs which otherwise, is usually impossible for inmates In conclusion, even though there are numerous benefits to shorter incarceration and unpaid work for culprits, I believe that we must take a different approach to those convicted with heavy crimes as they pose serious menaces to society. But on the other hand, for those who have done less serious crimes, the idea of doing unpaid work will bring many benefits.