Pollution and damage to the environment always happen when a country grows and becomes richer, and these problems cannot be stopped. To what degree do you support or oppose this idea?

In recent times, a rising amount of developing countries around the globe have been observed to have neglected environmental responsibilities. From citizens littering to air pollution by massive factories, these issues are often overlooked when a nation grows wealthier. Therefore, some have expressed their concerns about whether or not they (said problems) can be curbed. In my view, I completely oppose this idea, as I will elaborate further in this essay. First of all, while I admit that factories emit a large sum of pollutants, it is a necessary step in industrial economies. From manufacturing local goods to exports, all of which are crucial in boosting a nation's economy. Money is needed for survival in the modern society. Even though no companies receive adequate funding from the government to work towards a greener environment, some corporations voluntarily do exactly that. Take Vinfast, the largest electric vehicle (EV) manufacturer in Vietnam. By making mobiles that depend fully on electricity, fume emission from traditional gas-fueled cars is completely removed. Eco-friendly lifestyles have been an up-and-coming trend too. Moreover, the replacement of plastic, one-time-use materials is more common in communities. Eco-travel, the concept of responsible travelling where awareness towards the environment has been becoming a popular concept among tourists. It can be said that everyone below the government has been working and contributing to a healthier world in their own way. Secondly, propaganda and awareness programs about the environment are campaigned everywhere. In most education systems, children are being taught how to be responsible for the environment at a young age. In addition, more laws and signs prohibiting illegal deforestation, fishing and hunting are passed. What's more, trash bins can be easily located in public parks and monuments. Moreover, funding for the retainment of roadside trees and green spaces is covered by the government in most places. The Government in Singapore expects to commit over $10 billion SGD from FY2021 to FY2030 on the environment. Similarly, the US budget for environmental protection is estimated to exceed $150 billion USD annually (2% of GDP), according to one source. On the other hand, though, as large a number as that may seem, it is barely a dent in the government's budget. That is to say, environmental damage is still a low priority on the list of problems. Compared to improving healthcare, road infrastructure or economic growth, the majority of governments are unwilling to invest a significant amount in environmental protection. Perhaps it is not too late to prevent global warming, a colossal disaster that would wreak havoc on planet Earth, or perhaps it has already begun. In conclusion, I strongly believe that we can still reverse environmental damage. The global lockdown from the COVID-19 pandemic has allowed nature to recover more than we could have ever done. If there is a leading nation in the right direction, more would perhaps follow suit, and the Earth will be greener than before.