Sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Scheduling of renowned sporting events is done every 4 years. It raises the stature of the hosting nation in the eyes of the world and generates revenue for the hospitality sector. However, in my opinion, it brings in more problems than benefits, chief among which are funds not being allocated for other needs and managing the international travellers. To begin with, the country that hosts any sports event becomes the cynosure of all eyes. Moreover, it aids the economy as several foreign visitors throng the place to witness the games. The organizing city gets an opportunity to showcase its state-of-the-art infrastructure due to which international media covers it. Additionally, people from foreign land book their hotels in advance to be a part of the spectacle. For instance, when Delhi had hosted the Commonwealth Games in 2010, the country got the opportunity to showcase its world-class facilities. Furthermore, it led to a substantial increase in revenue generation for the hotels. On the other hand, conducting such events can be tricky as providing visas to several foreign travellers can be a cumbersome task. Furthermore, the nation prioritizes the games over any other essential activity. A country has to validate that any international traveller is fully vaccinated from the coronavirus before letting them in. Key infrastructure activities in other cities get jeopardized as the majority of the funds in the budget are allocated for hosting the sporting spectacle. To substantiate, more than half of the sports budget in 2010 was allocated for the Commonwealth games due to which the visa centres were overwhelmed with applications and the sporting infrastructure in other metros was put on the backburner To conclude, many cities around the world get a chance to host sporting events. This boosts their stature and leads to an increase in income for the hospitality sector. However, I strongly believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits as accommodating foreigners can be tough and the sporting infrastructure in other cities does not get sufficient funds.