Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people prefer to pursue academic studies at university rather than to follow vocational courses. Although the need for academic graduates can be denied, I totally agree that we should encourage more schoolchildren to qualify as electricians and plumbers. There are several reasons why more workers should be trained in skilled professions such as plumbing or electrical work. Firstly, such workers are vital when new buildings are constructed or when existing buildings have to be renovated or simply maintained. Moreover, permanent maintenance staff is employed in museums, hospitals, and schools, ensuring the safety of the people that use the buildings. Secondly, in many developed countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate unemployment, while at the same time, there is a shortage of manual labour. Therefore, governments should work with employers to ensure that extra vocational training courses are provided. More people should be encouraged to attend vocational training. The most important thing is that schools should incorporate relevant subjects into their curriculum, which does not place all the emphasis on preparation for academic studies at university. In addition, workshops in schools should provide an opportunity for schoolchildren to learn "hands-on skills", adapting the theory of physics lessons to practical applications. Another thing is that parents should help their children to choose vocational careers, explaining the good job prospects and remuneration for manual workers with skills and qualifications. In conclusion, I agree that it is vital that we encourage more students to do vocational training  because, without them, society can not function effectively.