Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

It has been pointed out that legislation in terms of employees’ working hours has been introduced by governments in some countries. Personally, I opine that the reason for this circumstance is that the authorities have recognized the drawback of the extreme longer working hours, and this situation is definitely a thriving development. First of all, the downside of working beyond the predetermined hours has been realized by a vast majority of political leaders, which is harming the mental health of workers who always work overtime. If office-workers usually stay back until midnight, they do not have enough leisure time to connect with their family members or intimate friends, so the quality of their interpersonal relationship would be impaired, thus making them anti-sociable and lonely. For instance, a huge number of employees of a renowned accounting firm say that they normally worked fifteen hours every day before the laws were introduced, so they did not have a free moment to interact with loved ones, which made them depressed. Furthermore, these laws benefit companies and individuals. The reason is that as limited working time provide staff with sufficient time to relax and have a rest, they are far more likely to have a clear mind and positive attitudes towards work, thus improving organizations’ productivity and profitability. A massive proportion of owners whose firms have an eight- hours working regulation state that after imposing this rule, more new effective work measures can be thought of by their members, which makes their companies more productive and profitable. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about the reason why some regulations regarding working time have been imposed and whether this trend is positive or negative, I am of the opinion that the repercussion of this situation has been seen by politicians, and this is a prosperous trend as it is beneficial for companies.