Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the age of the film industry, many people prefer watching films to reading books because of the wonderful casts or the outstanding effects of CGI. However, it is undeniable that reading plays a crucial role in developing our imagination. I completely agree with this viewpoint due to some extents below. There are numerous positive reasons to prove that reading is a better way to keep our minds active than watching movies. While reading, it is vital to picture the scenario, the location, and the appearance of the characters from a few given words, which means that, imagination can be stimulated effortlessly through reading books. Moreover, the meanings of the stories broaden readers' literary horizons and develop useful literary appreciation skills in later life. For example, reading a story based on a real-life event that happened in Munich grants the readers information related to that event or the culture of Germany. By contrast, watching films and television is considered to be a dependant method of using one's brain. In particular, movies and shows had already had the situations, locations and characters, which limits audiences' imagination. Therefore, watching films requires nothing but concentration, without using the brain. Nevertheless, watching not only narrows the ability to picture but also results in several health problems such as diabetes or heart disease due to spending too much time in front of the screens. In conclusion, it is true that films, Tv shows are attractive in some ways but obviously, reading benefits our minds better. Thus, in their leisure time, people, especially youngsters, should spend more time reading books than wasting hours watching tv.