Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern-day society, ordering things through online platforms more becoming more common as the internet provides various benefits to humans’ lives. I personally believe that the positive impacts of online shopping undermine its negative sides. To start with, online shopping allows people to order their desired products through their screens without experiencing traffic congestion, shop closed and crowded in the shopping mall. Consumers’ lives are becoming more convenient because of E-commerce. For instance, during the covid-19 pandemic, most of the stores were forced to shut down due to the outraging diseases and people were not able to go out shopping. As a result, people can order essential goods through an online portal such as Amazon, eBay and many more. Apparently, online shopping help to reduce the complexity of traditional buying habits at the malls. Additionally, customers have more opportunities to select a variety of brands of materials since they are capable of browsing different items through different websites and platforms. There is no denying that in some offline stores they only provide the specific brands on the shelves and we do not have many choices as we wish, so the limited options issue could be solved by online shopping. For example, customers can easily compare prices, reviews and product lists in the online marketplace in particularly Taobao since there are several shops selling the same products. On the other hand, some people may claim that the customer may experience the risk of getting poor quality ones since they do not see the actual products they ordered. However, they can explore for a huge number of reviews and compare it with other stores to make sure the shops are trustworthy. Moreover, there is recently an extra E-commerce service called “get commodity first, pay later”. This may solve the concern. In conclusion, the disadvantages of the e-commerce trend are overshadowed by the benefits resulting from modern technology. I believed that online shopping is one of the great innovations of people doing transactions as it reduces time and provides more options.