Young people prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news on the radio. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Provide reasons and examples for your opinion.

It is well-known fact that radio is one of the main sources of information as you have the opportunity to listen to the news and other stuff from all over the world. Nevertheless, people now prefer turning on music rather than news channels. I believe it is a positive trend in current conditions. On the one hand, the world changes and so do the language which is constantly used. Following this, songs, especially rap ones, contain a huge amount of slang words that are really complicated, but you for sure will benefit from knowing them. For instance, if you are chatting with someone who is a native speaker, you will understand abbreviations and most of the slang, so that you will not have awkward situations. Mood improvement is also a great reason to start listening to music. Provided that you delete all the music which makes you upset from your playlists, it will definitely work. A case in point is scientific researches that showed that doctors use music as a method of therapy and treatment on patients. On the other hand, news on the radio often can be disappointing and the person’s mood will definitely go down. Also, for example, the conversations about politics, medicine and other topics are mostly boring and the majority of people are not excited to listen to them. To sum up, it is obvious that music has more advantages than radio now. The popularity of news channels has declined as many have access to the internet and read them at a convenient time.