There were advantages and disadvantages of living in small towns.

As current and former small-metropolis residents can attest, living in less-populated regions has its own unique sets of positives and negatives. This essay will discuss what I consider the benefits and drawbacks of residing in a small city. There are two main advantages of living in a small town. The first is the low cost of living. Small towns generally have a less expenditure of living when it comes to renting, home prices, groceries and other consumer goods and services. For example, Washington, Illinois a small town in Central Illinois, has a cost living index of 84 as compared to Chicago,a big city a few hours away, which has a cost index of 106, while the average is 100. Another important benefit is the closeness of knowing the neighbours and details of their lives. If a baby is born, a child is ill, or a relative dies, people in small-town want to know about it and be there for you. This is an advantage, especially, if one is lacking a family of their own or enjoy a great deal of socializing. There are, however, some drawbacks of residing in small towns. The biggest is the lack of career opportunities. Rural manufacturing jobs are disappearing and fast-growing service industries like health care and professional services are mainly concentrated in urban areas. As a result, one may have to commute to the nearest city to secure a well-paying job. Another disadvantage of a small town is not being close to amusements parks, zoos or museums. Hence, small towns might provide slower-paced, relaxed activity when it comes to entertainment as compared to the hustle and bustle of a city, where there is constant movement, commotion and entertainment at every corner. To conclude, although the financial and socializing are exciting merits for small-town residents. I believe the negatives of fewer job opportunities and entertainment facilities are not negligible.