Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the immigration of many countries, there are more ethnic groups which increase the formation of cosmopolitan societies nowadays. Personally speaking, I agree that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain my idea with examples. On the one hand, multicultural societies can bring various benefits to a country in terms of economic and cultural development. First and foremost, an enormous number of immigrants are high achievers including entrepreneurs, engineers, doctors and other well-educated people. Their immigration means a dynamic labour force as well as an inflow of expertise and investments, which are key factors to boost of competitiveness, productivity and efficiency of a nation’s economy. For instance, Australia, as a cosmopolitan country, has experienced active economic growth for several decades since it implemented a relatively generous migrant policy in the 1990s. Furthermore, new immigrants normally understand the importance of respecting local traditions and customs, so they cooperate and collaborate well with natives. Taking Malaysia as an example, Chinese, Indian, Malayan and aboriginals work harmoniously in offices, factories and schools. What is more, people who grow up in a rich blend of cultures, people and lifestyles are more tolerant and open-minded than other mono-cultural societies. On the other hand, a multicultural society also has some problems. Especially, when immigrants try to maintain the unique characteristics of their civilizations, it can cause some conflicts between different ethnic groups. Therefore, the immigrants’ civilization is difficult to become the mainstream of the local social life. But the problems will be eventually dealt with as a cosmopolitan community is usually based on diversity and equality. In conclusion, because of the reasons above, the merits of the cosmopolitan community outweigh its drawbacks.