In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a growing global trend where citizens prefer to allocate their budget towards purchasing foreign groceries, especially food, rather than opting for local alternatives. The writer believes this stems from the fact that certain fruits and vegetables cannot be grown by local farmers. And the government can aid domestic agriculture products by charging more for imported food. One of the reasons for the growing interest in purchasing food that is imported is that local agriculture is not capable of farming some specific plants. To explain simply, various types of plants have a range of requirements which enable them to thrive and develop normally. Nevertheless, although fertilizers as well as advanced practices can address many of these, factors such as climate conditions remain crucial and often cannot be easily modified or are too exorbitant to apply in mass production. As a result, in order to consume some unique food, the client will have no choice but to buy the food that is nurtured in the overseas region. It must be understood how raising the taxes on imported food can encourage consumers to spend on products from local brands. That is because implementing a high charge on imported food makes the domestic customers, say middle- and low-income classes, unwilling to try to acquire this food category since the price is not suitable for the wallets of the inhabitants. Therefore, local foods like bananas are more welcomed in the domestic market thanks to their relatively low cost and high accessibility. In conclusion, people are more likely to buy food from overseas countries due to the local features that prevent the regions from cultivating particular crops. The authorities can increase the expenditure on local food by employing extra fees for imported one.