Write about the following topic: In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed in some nations that ownership of a house is extremely vital compared to renting. Perhaps this is large, because of the social and cultural values of those societies. I believe this is a positive situation. I will discuss it in this essay. To start with, social and cultural values plays an important role in dictating how housing needs are defined for a particular nation. Firstly, the countries with a strong belief in having one’s own house feel that if an individual does not have his personal property he or she will be considered as a failed person. Furthermore, it is also thought that a person will not be respected in the society he lives in for not having a home in his name. For example, in,India it is people do not trust a person if he does not have his personal house and they do not like one’s children to marry in those families living in rented accommodation. Is this a positive development?. Firstly, owning a house is gives one peace of mind and thinks it to be a success in life where he can tell his family and friends that he has his own house. He does not have to request anyone else to provide him with shelter and this boosts his confidence. Such as, in Pakistan people with personal properties feel more secure compared to those who do not have a home and lives in rented accommodation. Secondly, this helps individuals economically as they do not have to pay for the rent for the rest of their life and it can be transferred to their offspring as well. In conclusion, owning a house is instrumental in the social fabric of some countries. This is mostly due to the cultural values of each nation. I personally believe that it is a positive situation for countries where it is valued most.