In some countries it is now illigal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Anti-discrimination against someone’s age is a common observation in many countries. Even more so, some countries are obligated to allow all ages to apply for open vacancies. In my opinion, while there are both advantages and disadvantages to allowing all ages to apply, the overall impact leans toward the negative. One paramount concern is that some occupations undoubtedly require a certain amount of years experience to fully comprehend the job requirements. For example, Marine Exploration in Iraq requires all applicants to be at least 35 years old, as the job is mentally draining. Moreover, occupations like pilots, surgeons or sergeants often require excessive life experience and failure to this could lead to depression or post-traumatic stress disorder. Given this, it is evident that there are certain occupations who require an individual to obtain a sufficient amount of life experience, and legalizing all ages to apply might have a negative outcome. Despite this, one notable benefit is the unparallel convenience that it offers pensioners. For instance, Global Engineering has no retirement age as they believe some minds do not age and can still be beneficial to the company. However, the likelihood that an underaged child or pensioner can perform at the same performance level as a seasoned specialist in its prime is scarce. Thus, it is my contention that job vacancies should rather have an age restriction. In conclusion, allowing all ages to apply for a job can be beneficial for individuals who can do the tasks no matter their age. However, there are too many occupations that must have an age restriction due to mental maturity. If people of all ages are allowed to apply for jobs, then certain occupations might not be able to perform as they should.