(VMN)In many countries governments are investing in new technology to deal with the public. Why this happening? Do you think this is an appropriate use of government money?

A number of nations' governments are spending the most money on the latest technology as a solution for social problems. It can be easily understood that catching up with digital development is necessary to manage the country and benefit citizens, though government money should also be invested in educational strategy. It is acknowledged that technology nowadays plays a vital role in controlling and enhancing a nation. Updating to the latest version of technology gives the government a chance to access it widely and swiftly within the entire country and quickly come up with a suitable solution for a certain existing matter. Furthermore, having up-to-date digital achievements such as automation and AI can bring many conveniences to the inhabitants in many aspects. Take Japan, for instance, where the 5G (Fifth Generation) has been obtained and people can now purchase a meal, a drink, or an overnight room in capsule hotels through numerous vending machines and automatic systems with few interactions, or even with only their phones. Notwithstanding, it will not be good if the money is spent primarily on this area. Developed technology acquires a higher level of knowledge than in the past, and education therefore needs much attention in order to form a firm and fundamental foundation of knowledge for students. The adjustment in Vietnamese education in recent years is an obvious example, when there are more and more new achievements in plenty of subjects, especially mathematics and IT, which are important to be added to gradually old-fashioned studying materials along three grades: Grade 8, Grade 9, and Grade 10, with the intention of altering teaching strategies in universities in the upcoming years. All in all, the necessity to catch up with the latest technological achievements has led to the major investment in technology by many countries’ governments. This, however, would be better spent balanced on educational enhancement too.