Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

With the dawn of the 21st century, the usage of renewable energy resources such as solar energy is gaining momentum across the globe, especially in domestic households. Considerably, there are enormous merits to this trend along with some disadvantages that cannot be overlooked. One of the reasons for the increasing popularity of products that utilise solar energy is due to the fact that the production of power from non-renewable resources such as coal and crude oil will be less viable in the future due to their availability. This is due to the overconsumption that has led to the reduction of their reserves apart from the high costs that are quoted by various countries which hold these reserves. Moreover, the utilization of these energy sources results in the emission of greenhouse gases, which are responsible for climate change. Nonetheless, there are few demerits associated with the application of solar energy to homes. Firstly, this source of energy is dependent on weather. Although solar energy can be harvested during cloudy or rainy days, the efficiency of the system drops significantly. For instance, research published in the journal of Renewable Energy in 2014 indicated that the production of solar energy can drop by 10 to 25 per cent depending on the intensity of clouds over the place where solar equipment is installed. Secondly, the initial cost for the procurement and installation of the solar energy system is fairly high. On the other hand, one of the major merits of using solar power is that it will help to fight climate change. The continuous emission of pollutants such as carbon dioxide from non-renewable sources warms the planet while causing an abrupt change in the weather pattern. This will have a direct impact on health, agriculture and cause natural calamities such as wildfires, flooding, droughts, etcetera. However, solar power is clean energy and its use in houses will reduce carbon footprints. Additionally, this energy does not contribute to air pollution and is good for biodiversity. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that, although there are few demerits associated with solar power these problems can be solved through research and development of highly efficient photovoltaic cells.