Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn’t do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether children should read stories alone or with the accompany of parents is a question that many parents are facing nowadays. This article will explore more on this question and share my opinion. Some argue that parents should keep their children accompany while they are reading books on the account that it contributes to the development of children. One notable trait of children is that they can hardly grasp the correct meaning of the book even if the content is very simple. In others words, they can hardly profit from reading books that they do not understand. This might result in children wasting their precious time for learning. By contrast, with the assistance of their parents, they might gain some insights into the story and thereby enriching the time spent on reading. In addition, it is kids’ natural to imitate their parents ’ words and deeds. For this reason, if parents tell the story themselves to their children in their early days, which shows that they are intrigued by the book, then it is highly predictable that the kids will enjoy the process of reading in the future. Others believe that this assistance from parents in reading can affect the development of children. It is common knowledge that independence is a curial ability of a human being and can only be instilled into children at a very young age. More specifically, children whose parents constantly help them with reading at a young age are more likely to show reliance toward their parents in terms of reading later. What’s more, not having children read books alone might deprive children of the opportunity to explore their interests. It is undeniable that children hardly change their minds if they have a vision of something. Consequently, once parents have failed to pinpoint the interests of their children and cannot provide books accordingly, a stereotype towards books will be formed. This might result in children do not favour reading. [40 minutes] Therefore, it is reasonable that some parents insist on not reading the story out loud for their children. To conclude, while some argue that parents should help children to read, others maintain that otherwise contribute to cultivating independence. From my perspective, it is vital to see whether the child has the ability to read alone, if not, parents should do their best to help kids to fully understand the book.