City dwellers today rarely socialize with their neighbors and the sense of community is being lost. What are the causes of this? Suggest some solutions.

Over the past few years, urban residents have become less familiar with their neighbours and they do not even know them. In this essay, I will illustrate the underlying reasons for this situation and offer some advice on how to tackle this issue. One primary reason is the fact that urban residents have a fast-paced lifestyle and tight schedules every single day. They often work overtime to accomplish numerous tasks, and thus they do not have enough time to get along with their neighbours. One possible approach could be decreasing their tasks on work and limiting their work time. However, it is not simple to make it happens since productivity may declines. Another major contributing factor in the lack of a sense of community is the fact that people spend more time surfing online. With the development of technological innovation, high-tech products play a significant role in modern life, City-dwellers prefer to socialize online through a wide range of social media rather than to chat with neighbours. Another way to tackle this issue is by planning more public places, such as community parks, community sports centres and community libraries. Therefore, urban residents may be willing to spend more time get along with their neighbours. By way of conclusion, a fast-paced lifestyle and spending more time surfing online are the possible reasons why city dwellers lack a sense of community. However, there are some effective solutions for it. For example, reducing people's work tasks, decreasing work time each day and constructing some community places.