Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The higher remuneration of the sportsmen has always been a popular topic for debate as some believe that people across other fields also contribute the same effort but end up being paid less while the rest believe it’s worth their talent. I would have to vouch my support to the former group as I feel that there are other areas where people put in the same or more effort and hardwork that is mostly overshadowed by the sports industry. It is widely agreed that being a successful sportsperson would require a lot of character, hardwork and physical fitness that needs to be maintained throughout the career. Until their retirement they wont have the freedom to yield to their tastebuds, party like an animal or give their bones some rest. It can’t be denied that apart from their own achievements they also play for their country’s pride. The football players are an apt example for such a scenario where they go through a tough diet and discipline to play for their representative clubs as well as for their country and hence are paid a hefty salary. Furthermore, the earning period of an athlete would not last longer as they retire very early during their career. Despite all these factors still it’s not fair to pay sportsmen more than the people putting in more or less the same efforts in the other sectors. There are many such fields where the contributors deserve to be paid more than the sportsmen, like soldiers dedicating their lives guarding the country’s borders, scientists working hard to explore things to improve human life, etc. A very good instance of such a scenario would be the doctors and the frontline workers who risked their lives during the pandemic trying to save the infected patients. Still, they were not paid a higher salary as compared to the sportsmen. Hence I conclude that eventhough there is an explicit effort and dedication put forth by the sportsperson, they should not be paid more than the people who commit their life and hardwork towards their own domain.