Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether a wide breadth of internationally produced films should be widely shown to the general populace has become progressively debatable as some argue that this notion might provoke a detrimental impact on cultural features. In my opinion, while reliance on domestic films contributes to the cultural development of a nation, it is severely a restriction. The most frequently cited rationale for the emphasis on cultural aspects is to point to the importance of nationally made films. When a country imports few foreign films, they are forced into making better movies to attract audiences. One of the salient illustrations of this is predominantly indicated in the 1980s, just after the cultural revolution in China, when films made outside the country were not shown to the citizenry. Studios instead funded massively ambitious Chinese filmmakers like Stephen Chou, who would later go on to lead the 1990s ascent of Chinese new wave cinema. This same pattern has been replicated in myriad nations including South Korea, France and Hong Kong, having a carry-on effect on defining their own cultural achievements. Albeit I concede the merits of national film production like the one mentioned, I would still contend that watching films produced from overseas allows audiences to enjoy the best entertainment on offer. It might be cruel to ban overseas film production and enforce a sur-par viewing experience in countries with under-developed film industries. This can be most apparently seen in the most popular movies, which tend to come from Hollywood, include blockbuster superhero franchises, Oscar-worthy dramas and comedies. The national theatre chains would struggle to stay in business without these foreign products and more seriously the advent of online streaming options has enabled audiences to just subscribe to these sites like Netflix and even download movies illegally. Overall, welcoming these films made from abroad and encouraging them to expand have a valid standpoint as it had a clear and tangible impact on the number of theatre-goers. In conclusion, the value of locally made film production cannot outweigh that of international films as they do wonders for the diversionary experience of viewers. In my final thought, film regulators and governors should propose a more holistic approach to subsidise this industry in order to strike some balance.