Popular events like the football World Cup and other international occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotion In a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the 21st century, while many nations are battling with one another over several issues like border tension, terrorism etc., International Sports competitions like IPL, Commonwealth, Olympics have eased the tension to an extent between these countries. I completely agree with the notion and favour these international events for peace and harmony amongst all nations worldwide. The principal reason for holding sports worldwide is to ease the stress amongst nations. Amongst many activities, Sport plays a key role in putting aside all tensions and all the participants play like a true warriors and at the same time cheer up for their competitors. For example, in Common Wealth Games games like boxing, swimming, etc. Are held in which one or the other nation win the match while the other players learn from each other's strategies and cope with the stressful situation. The other major benefit from these events are patriotic emotions which are released in a safe way. At times, we come across instances, where games can contribute to ending the conflicts between nations. In 2008, Turkey and Armenia teams were set to play a world cup and the Turkish president accepted. Armenia loosened visa restrictions so that Turkish fans could join the game. The match opened new diplomatic channels between the countries. To conclude, these worldwide sporting events have been held every year to resolve the issues hovering in many countries and develop global unity. I am convinced with the given statement and believe these competitions should be given high priority.