The youth in many countries are unemployed and unskilled, while at the same time, the military services are in need of people. Compulsory military service is beneficial and necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Around the globe, young people are unemployed as well as untrained for anything in life. Additionally, the army is in need of individuals, it is then believed that the youth should have compulsory military service. I firmly do not support this view since the standards of this institution do not always correspond with those of younger generations and the event would probably traumatize them. The army has a specific set of values such as respect, nationalism and also the idea of following orders without questioning them. Furthermore, these sentiments do not always correspond with those of a young human. As a consequence, the juvenile person will not appreciate the fact of being in the army. For instance, there were important riots in Morroco in 2023 due to the installation of a mandatory service, which had standards that did not align with the Morrocan youth. This created terrible protests, but we can conclude that the military is not meant for everyone if it does not correspond with the way youngsters think. It is also thought that the experience of military training can traumatize any person. Moreover, the values of this particular sector are also meant to be able to abuse any subordinate causing the possibility to abuse them. Compulsory training will only traumatize the individual without allowing them to develop any skill. For example, the scandal on the US junior navy, published by the New York Times in 2012, showed that almost 70% of them were abused in the training camps. In this percentage, 30% of the ones that answered expressed that the abusive events in question would scar them for life and, in 40% of the cases, they feel that they will not be able to move on from these traumatic experiences. This makes them unable to find a proper job in the future. To conclude, I wholeheartedly believe that mandatory military service would not be good because the sentiments are not always shared by the youth as well as the training has a traumatizing effect on most of the forced subordinates.