Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, foods are transported to markets that are thousands of miles from where they are produced. There are some reasons and I believe this is a good trend. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why this is a good move. To begin with, some regions offer good markets for food products. Farm produce such as coffee and tea are majorly grown in Kenya, but the top markets are in Europe and North America. Therefore, it makes sense for farmers to export their goods to overseas where the returns are quite high. Climatic factors and soil conditions also define the type of crops to be grown in other countries. Some countries could be arid, semi-arid or highland. This means that certain foods cannot be cultivated in other places. For instance, maize is a staple food for Kenyans and it can only be grown in Rift Valley as it is fertile and receives adequate rainfall, hence the rest of the country relies on supply from the region. In my view, this is the best way to go because it ensures stable and reliable supply of foods in countries that rely on processed products. Furthermore, it addresses global issues like hunger and malnutrition that affect the world population. In addition, it promotes global trade and fosters international peace. To summarize, transportation of farm products to foreign markets should be encouraged as there are benefits related to this trend. People working in the agricultural sector will be able to reap more from what they grow. Moreover, it enables growers to learn more about farming and exchange ideas with their peers staying abroad.