despite advances in agriculture, many people in the world are still hungry. Why is this so? what are the likely solutions

Despite the fact that farming methods and yield improved dramatically over the last century, millions of people still do not have enough to eat. There are several social, economical and climatic reasons behind this disturbing phenomenon. In this essay, I will examine two factors that are most important and suggest some measures that can be implemented to tackle this problem. There are significant reasons why nation do not have enough food and one of them is unevenly distributed resources. Indeed, it is well known that population who suffer from hunger are from underdeveloped countries where they have no financial support to conduct researches in farming. Another point to aggravate this problem is the climate change and geographical differences. In Africa, for instance, adequate rain, sunshine and nourished soil barely exist resulting in famine. Adding to this, even though some countries have a rich harvest of crops, it is likely to be destroyed by flooding or other natural disasters which might be caused by climate change. Clearly, the situation is dire. To combat this, the government need to take action. One option is to increase investment in research into alternatives such as genetically modified food, which will ensure that scientists are able to study and experiment. In terms of food shortages, greater international cooperation could be encouraged. Countries with food surplus, for example, could donate what they need to less fortunate nations, while expertise too should be shared globally to help improve crop yields and farming practices. Ultimately, in order to manage global hunger, nations need to work together. To conclude, hunger is inevitable and continue to haunt millions of people even in the 21st century. While it may be possible to find ways to prevent famine, greater investments from governments and more cooperation between global leaders are essential.