In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say that an aging population creates problems for governments. other people think that there are benefits if society has more elderly. to what extent do the advantages of having ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Life expectancy has grown in recent years in a large number of countries. Although the old population is thought by some to be useful for society, other people consider that it can cause some issues for the government. In my opinion, I think that the elderly people can bring out more benefits for society compared to any drawbacks it might bring for the government. Despite the disadvantages below, I believe the advantages gained by elderly people in society are extremely remarkable. Firstly, older individuals are perfectly experienced. What this means is that they have lived for a long time and have witnessed a variety kinds of matters which teach them how to tackle problems. Their family members, as a consequence, are able to enjoy their notable and valuable advice. Secondly, businesses are able to benefit from older people's recommendations and consultments. This not only is useful for companies but also vital for universities. In other words, old tutors are extremely well-informed about their fields of study. Take for example Mr Shafiee Kadkani, who is a well-known and aged poet in Iran, he is invited to the University of Tehran just for 3 hours a week to teach eager students. Admittedly, there are some issues involved with an ageing population. One problem is the pressure on the healthcare system which takes facilities and medical treatment. Family members of old individuals, additionally, are engaged in the curing process which leads to spending extra time and money on it and changing their routine lives. However, this situation is rare, only happening when a poor and unable old person who can not afford their treatment expenses takes illness. In conclusion, weighing up both sides of the argument, I would say that the positive aspects of the high-experience elderly population in society outweigh any of the basic bad points, such as healthcare costs.