Nowadays young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Popularity of media celebrities and successful athletes has been gradually increased among youngsters. However, the problem of these so- calles stars often behave less than ideal are posed due to the likelihood of delivering adverse effects on young generation. It is considered that drawbacks of following celebrities without reasonable grounds instead of having proper role models to admire are greater than its benefits. This essay will outline what are disadvantages of this phenomenon and provide reasons to support. First and foremost, if youngsters follow people only for popularity and fame, it would more likely to be time wasting as there would be nothing to learn from them. To explain, it is of paramount importance to children and teenagers to have an influential role model. As a matter of fact, it could be anyone, not only CEOs of big companies or presidents, but also sports stars, famous people on social media, actors or actresses, as long as there are things to learn from them. That is to say, chasing wrong role models will only be time consumptive for young people. Seconly Second, appalling behaviours or mindsets of popular people could affect youngsters to believe that those are right things to do or follow. To be more specific, young people are inclined to mimic people who they like regardless of whose wholesomeness. In other words, when some famous people say gender or race discriminative comments, these dangerous notions could set in youngsters mind. Therefore, it should be disencouraged to young generation to follow celebrities with disrespectable attitudes. To summarise, for young people, having a person that they like and trying to keep up with the person could conveys considerable benefits in their personal growth. However, the importantance is subject to personalities of their role models. So if young generation keep on following people who have unhealthy behaviour, it would not result in positive growth. Thus, it is necessary to educate youngsters about who they should follow for better future.