Evironmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little.

These days, who is responsible for environmental protection is a controversial topic. Some people think that the government or politicians have to ensure that the earth is protected, but I cannot entirely agree with this view. People believe that the environmental problem is so serious that it cannot be solved by individual power. Therefore, only politicians have considerable power and influence to solve the problem. It is difficult for ordinary people to have enough influence to get governments, international NGOs, and individual campaigners to focus on the same issue, but politicians can. Global warming, for example, as not a regionalised event, requires not only the attention of all the relevant institutions in all regions but also the financial, human, and intellectual resources of these institutions, as individuals are far from being able to bear the costs required to ameliorate global warming. However, relying on politicians alone is not enough, or if the power of government is vital for other issues, it is the power of the public that is key for environmental issues. For instance, energy is in short supply, and governments can only work to develop new energy sources. Nevertheless, according to scientists, oil, which people now mainly depend on, will only support people's production and livelihoods for 40-50 years at the current rate. So, only if everyone reduces their energy consumption will it be possible to support them until new alternative energy sources are discovered. That means why individual efforts are also highly crucial when it comes to environmental protection. In conclusion, I reiterate the firm belief that in the face of environmental problems, it is not enough to rely on the efforts of politicians but also to involve the power of individuals. One small step for everyone towards environmental protection is a big step for the world towards environmental protection.