In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Modern science has tremendous effects on all facets of human life be it education, communication or health. Thanks to improvements in medical science, many developed nations have seen improvement in average life expectancy which brings its own set of challenges for individuals and society as a whole. In this essay, I will discuss these challenges along with some measures that can be taken to tackle the impact of the ageing population. Firstly, the majority of developed nations provide social security to elderly people. An increase in average life expectancy increases the burden on the government and taxpayers both for such social benefits. For instance, the average age in Japan is more than 40 years and soon there is going to be a shortage of working population to support the economy. Individuals also face several problems. A longer does not mean a happier life. Many people lose their partners and live lonely life. Moreover, they constantly need support in various day to day activities. Several measures can be taken to reduce the impact of the ageing population. Countries, such as Canada, have eased their immigration laws to improve their workforce. It has started various immigration programs to get skilled workers from other countries. For individuals, Old age homes, designed specifically to cater to the needs of elderly people, can be created. Such facilities can help the ageing population live a more fulfilling life. To conclude, increasing average life expectancy brings its own set of challenges. In the above paragraphs, a few of the problems and their solutions have been discussed.