In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that in the future, all vehicles will become driverless wherein only the passengers will be riding. In this essay, I will be discussing both the benefits and drawbacks of using autonomous transportation. In my opinion, this type of advancement will be disadvantageous. On the one hand, cars, buses, and trucks will become more spacious. They can accommodate more riders as compared to the current situation. For example, a public bus in the Philippines can currently sit approximately 50 people, without counting the driver and helper. However, if the presence of the driver and helper are removed, additional spaces will be provided for use. Consequently, it will promote less traffic congestion because fewer buses are needed on the roads. On the other hand, there are numerous adverse effects that this type of technology brings. Obviously, the hardworking drivers will be displaced. These professions, in a way, can become obsolete because eventually, machines will replace them. In addition, safety will become questionable. A driverless car, for instance, can malfunction and put the lives of passengers in danger. Furthermore, artificial intelligence still does not have the capacity to function and think such as a human being. They cannot decide on what to do when placed in a dangerous situation. In summary, vehicles will become driverless in the future where only passengers are the riders. This can benefit not only commuters but also the environment because of the added capacity. However, disadvantages can include some losing their jobs as well as people putting their lives at risk. I strongly believe that this poses more harmful effects than advantages because when using vehicles, safety should always be the priority.