Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the largest issues all over the world nowadays is the concern towards the environment. Overpopulation no doubt puts a strain on the environment but it is not a serious concern but it is the way the people choose to live that effects the environment.I believe that its the living lifesttyles of humans that make it difficult for the environment. Firstly, with the excessive use of cars in everyday life which release harmful fumes, which in turn are more dangerous to the environment. But the problem arises when the people deliberately choose to use their own vehicles for their own convience. In country like Japan, the government decided to create a scheme on free cycling stations to encourage the sport of cycling but it was not accepted by the people because they decided to use their vehicles since they are more convenient. Secondly, there are very few nations which have less demographic population as compared to the economy of the nation. For instance nations like Japan where population is a crisis is not root cause of their inability to curb environmental concerns. Japan heavily relies on industry and manpower to increase its economic strength which means pollution all year round since they have a demand for luxurious items. To conclude, it can be said that overpopulation is not a root cause of environmental degradation. Most of the environmental issues stem from the lifestlyes lifestyle humans live with. If humans start living a sustainable lifestyle then there would be no pressure on the environment at all.