People Choosing To Have Cosmetic Surgery. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, some people have decided to undergo body enhancement through surgery in order to make their appearance more appealing. In my opinion, there are different reasons why they need it and I believe this trend is favorable but sometimes problematic. To begin with, there are people who choose to make body enhancements with the help of cosmetic or plastic surgeons because they are deemed necessary. For example, patients who are victims of incidents like acid attacks or being involved in car accidents that affect their physical appearance. These kinds of people are left with no choice but to undertake surgery. They need the help of surgeons to make their outer appearance look pleasing. In this case, cosmetic surgery or plastic surgery is extremely beneficial as it rebuilds the patients’ self-esteem and helps them live normally as other people do. However, there are some who decide to get surgery to make their looks more attractive because they simply want to fit in or get validated by people who set beauty standards. In other words, these people are pressured by what they see on social media or on advertisements about cosmetic surgery. They think that in order for them to be recognized and valued, they need to have surgery. Also, they believe that doing so will make them more confident about themselves and successfully fulfill the definition of what beauty is. Although it is their right to enhance their looks, the fact that their decision is influenced by societal pressures is psychologically damaging. In conclusion, people differ in their reasons for undergoing enhancements of their appearance and I think that this practice can be both favorable and unfavorable depending on what influences their decision.