Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Every country has distinct methods to deal with a convicted person for maintaining rules and regulations in society. A section of community vehemently deems that a specified punishment for each offence is more effective to alleviate the crime rate. Although, It holds a plethora of merits yet numerous demerits are also there. On the constructive part, the most significant advantage of fixed punishment to all criminals is that it is cost-effective and less time-consuming for our judicial system. For instance:- if the government starts to give the same penalty to every murderer, it will save their time and expense of repeated hearings. Moreover, It also prevents corruption in the legal system. In some cases, with the help of a great defence attorney and by giving the bribe to high authority, a person can escape easily. However, if the same sentence starts to provide such consideration, no criminals can get away from punishment. Hence, offerends can be deterred by same long prisonment. On the destructive part, there appears to be a potential shortcoming from similar sentence. Chiefly, all criminals do not perform crimes under the same circumstances, and some acted on self-defence. Therefore, providing the same penalty to everyone is not justice to them. For example: A minor who steals food from a shop because his mom is starving and another one who brutally robbed and stabbed an old lady is entirely different crimes. Thus, some situations need to considerate before giving a penalty. In conclusion, It is evident that even though providing the same sentence has some profits, but this application may draw injustice in the courtroom. In my opinion, adequate awareness needs to take by lawmakers to avoid its negative aspects.