A lot of high schools nowadays offer their students career orientation by either giving certain universities chances for introduction and advertising or organizing field trips to a few universities. Some think students can benefit from these activities. Others reckon they are pseudo-effective. Which idea do you support? In about 350 words, write an essay on your ideas.

These days, an increasing number of junior high schools promote their undergraduates’ occupational orientation by either offering specific universities opportunities for their public relations work or arranging short journeys to several tertiary institutions. While some believe pupils could get a lot out of these ventures, others, however, claim the contrary. From my perspective, I support the view of the former, stating that students would gain huge benefits from these orientation activities. In the first place, it is this career orientation program that supports students in opting for the best-suited jobs, or this might as well motivate them to enter their dream institutions. This, in return, would potentially do wonders for pupils’ future as they may settle down earlier and become more financially secure than those who do not. For instance, staying in an appropriate job for a lasting period could bring about promotion prospects and better employee perks, which otherwise could not be achieved by those swiftly changing their occupations. What is more, it is undeniable that these occupational counselling affairs are invaluable as this is a great opportunity for pupils to self-reflect. By partaking in those activities, undergraduates can discover either in which field they would love to major, or whether or not they are capable enough to pursue a particular career path. To cite an example, those managing to find a suitable job generally thrive more successfully and earning more profitably than those who are stuck in a rut, not knowing what work to opt for. Nevertheless, to a certain extent, these counselling ventures may have their drawbacks in that they could be misleading and bewildering. Take, for example, the downside of misinformation of universities and deceptive advertising ideas is that it would make students get lost and become even more confused among thousands of jobs advertised out there, rather than help them clearly visualize their future career path. All things considered, while universities’ commercials, as well as publicity, could be fallacious and perplexing at times, it is worth paying a visit to several tertiary institutions and receive guidance from counselling agencies, since these could help pupils to self-reflect and envision their future. Therefore, I voice approval of the proposal, believing that these orientation affairs should be fostered and expanded to support more undergraduates.