There is a trend of increasing competitiveness in today’s society. In your opinion, is it a good or a bad development?

It is true that people nowadays are living in a harshly competitive world. Although the positive aspects of this trend are varied, in my opinion, this development is overall considered negative on account of some reasons below. On the one hand, it is undeniable that maintaining competitiveness brings many significant developments for any civilized society. This is because high competitiveness can serve as a motivational factor in several real situations. For instance, in order to compete against other rivals, businesses need to think of new innovative ideas for marketing as well as improve their products and services’ quality, hence attracting more prospective customers and increasing sales. This not only contributes greatly to the economy but also benefits consumers in many ways. In addition, in the educational practise or the sports world, competitiveness plays a vital role in making progress to gain personal bests. In particular, students or athletes are motivated to try their best and then achieve respectable achievements. On the other hand, I strongly believe that high competitiveness leaves more adverse repercussions that should not be ignored. First of all, people who are living in this tough world should be under much pressure to become successful or being recognized by others. This can be exemplified by the case of Japanese workers who suppose spending longer time at their workplaces or working without any vacation is usual, even essential things in an attempt to get promoted in their jobs as well as avoid being redundant. Such a stressful life can accordingly lead to many mental illnesses such as stress and depression, thus Japan is notorious for the high suicide rate in the world. Secondly, in some cases, increasing competitiveness can act as a motive to lure people into evil things. In fact, many ambitious and jealous people are willing to use dirty tricks to harm others and gain their own goals. In conclusion, although I cannot deny the benefits that competitiveness brings to people in society, I am more convinced that it is more of a negative development since numerous detrimental aspects such as accumulative pressure on citizens and inhumane actions for their own sake are more significant than its beneficial ones.