You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Having police officers patrolling the streets is often considered an essential way to reduce crime. How effective do you think police street patrols are? What other ways of reducing crime can you propose? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience. You should write at least 250 words.

When talking about reducing criminal activities, there is an ongoing discussion on how effective the police street patrols are in reducing crime. I believe that there are three benefits of police patrols and some other practical ways to curb crime activities. First and foremost, by show of force, the presence of police officers in the neighbourhood will create fear for the offender thereby preventing further unlawful activities. This is due to, in general, a guarded place is safer than an unguarded one. Next, by having officers on site, patrolling, reaching a crime scene will be faster and easier hence action can be taken immediately to prevent further catastrophic consequences such as robbery and murder. Finally, if the officers are present in the ground field, investigative work and information exchange by the informers may be conducted more accurately and efficiently. Turning to the possible solutions, another means of mitigating crimes is first, greater enforcement of drug trafficking activities. This is because drug dealing activities are one of the sources of other crimes such as stealing and fights. Secondly, one of the main contributing factors to higher rates of social problems such as poverty is social inequalities. Hence, to tackle poverty and prevent criminal activities, free education and financial support are measures with a lot of benefits. A further step is creating greater awareness of the public through education via mainstream and social media. Overall the solution to minimize crimes will require combined action by the government, non-government organisations and the public through stricter law enforcement, changes in policies and crime-free promotion programs