A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. to what extend do you agree?

The major concern for any government is to ensure the safety of every individual in the country. People believe that the progress of the nation depends upon the level of security they have. On the other hand, a certain category of citizens also supports the argument for spending public funds on social beneficiary programs. Countries like India, China, Pakistan spends more than twenty percent of their national income on national vigilance which is ten times more than the income of all African countries combined. Such a huge amount of money can buy a fortune yet authorities allocate funds on military upgrades because of their insecurities caused by neighbour countries. Because of huge amounts spent on national defence, middle class and low-income profile people are suffering to meet their daily expenses. All taxes collected from taxpayers are not helping them back and also voters have to bear additional burden in order to support soldiers. For example, public health, education, transport are also essential like defence, government authorities should take up some steps to achieve peace among rival countries. In conclusion, i agree government spending on soldiery regarding safety concerns but also spending should not be unbearable.