Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Children obesity has become a worrying topic in recent years. There are several reasons leading to this. There are a number of reasons for the rising levels of childhood obesity. First, since the eating habits of today’s children are more unhealthy than that of previous generations, they tend to consume too much fast food, candy, and sugary drinks. In fact, these foods are very high in fat and sugars, but low in vitamins and minerals, which can cause kids to gain weight quickly. Second, by having sedentary lifestyles, modern kids tend to watch TV, browse the internet or play computer games instead of playing outside or doing sport. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, in order to ensure children have a healthy diet, parents are required to choose the daily foodstuffs carefully. For example, they should favour organic foods, like clean fruits, vegetables or meats, over-processed foods, which leads to a fit body for their kids. Secondly, if parents restrict the time their children spend on sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise, they would help their kids have more chances to do sports and other social activities. This means that by burning excess calories that otherwise would be stored as fat, these physical activities would help them control their weight. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the increase in child obesity and measures should be implemented to tackle this issue.