In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether online platforms will be a popular source of information. In my opinion, I strongly agree and believe that social media will replace printed documents very soon. On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons why printed documents will disappear. Firstly, it is not an up-to-date source of information. A good example of this would be news on social media like Live news is reported instantly as compared to news on newspapers which may take several hours for production. Another major reason is that it is unreasonable for buying printed documents on a daily basis. This is mainly because when people can read news on social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter for free, virtually all people who want to read newspapers every morning do not need to pay for it. On the other hand, there are three major reasons why I believe that online platforms will be popular source of information. Firstly, a smartphone is readily available since it is one of the fundamental devices to use for various benefits in daily life. Several studies have found that news consumption from social media like Twitter has increased significantly every year since 2017 in all countries. Another reason for this is that there are not any differences between paid printed newspapers and news on social media in terms of their contents. This means that when people decided to read news on smartphones, it is much more convenient and cost-effective. In conclusion, I strongly agree that printed documents will not exist in the future because they will be replaced by social media.