Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Humanity has witnessed huge technological advances in recent years, and it is the first time that we have been exposed to such a huge amount of information. By using the Internet it is now even possible to freely download and share content that belongs to others. This essay will discuss both the negative and positive sides of this feature. First and foremost, it is obvious that spreading materials that are secured with copyright is considered to be a crime. In other words, using and distributing creative content that is a possession of others is basically stealing. Even if it is not an intentional action, it remains to be a violation of the owners’ rights. Moreover, nearly anybody who knows how to operate the Internet commits this crime without even realising it, as it is really easy for people not to pay attention to it.When an artist releases a song, to give a clear example, many will want to download it for free, which is illegal because the singer who protects the product does not get paid in the end. However, there are also positive aspects when it comes to installing materials that are used for education and entertainment purposes free of charge. One of them is that it may be even easier to promote one's content this way, it can be also used as a marketing trick. Namely, the media nowadays is extremely rapid and accessible, so even newcomers to the field of publishing can gain recognition this way. Furthermore, this opportunity helps young people save money on something really valuable. To elaborate, it is much more important for students to pay for their tuition rather than study recourses that are often free. To conclude, I consider that sharing copyrighted materials such as music and books has more benefits if I were to compare it with the adverse effects. The main argument in favour of this is that it is frequently advantageous for the author, as the Internet and technology overall assist with promotion.