THE ONLY WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO GIVE MUCH STRICTER PUNISHMENTS ON DRIVING OFFENCES. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DİSAGREE?

In the last few years, the debate regarding road safety has been raised. Some people claim that the only way to increase road security is to have strict rules and punishment systems. However, I believe that such measures will not be enough and we need more actions to tackle this problem. Firstly, the government should have the responsibility for ensuring that the country has a safe route according to the standards. For example, in the major cities, we should have huge roads then small network routes. In addition, roadway maintenance should occur frequently in order to avoid accidents. Furthermore, we should have a national roads safety committee that will inspect and standardize the traffic safety issues. For instance, the committee will give guidelines to be followed as well as training to the inspectors to monitor the progress. Secondly, the government also needs to make clear traffic rules and distribute them to the people. In other words, theoretical knowledge should be included in driving lessons. In addition, such knowledge should be distributed to all roads users. Thirdly, the presence of traffic lights is essential to allow smooth movements of the vehicles. All of that together with a strict punishment system will decrease accidents and promote roads safety. In conclusion, to decrease the accidents and make sure the security of motor traffic, cyclists and pedestrians we should have excellent roads as well as a formal committee that responsible for the guidelines. In addition to a strict fines system. Also, a theoretical exam should take place for all driving students.