Governments should spend money on railways than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Infrastructure development plays a vital role in the quality of life of citizens. It is thought by some that the government ought to invest more in rail networks than in road infrastructure. I entirely agree with this view from environmental and social perspectives. Firstly, the investment in railways benefits the country by improving the environment. It is undeniable that the use of cars adversely affects the environment by releasing greenhouse gases and other harmful substances into the air. Trains, on the other hand, are relatively ecologically friendly as a number of people can be carried in a single carriage. For this reason, using more financial resources for improving rail networks would certainly be advantageous for the sustainability of the country. In Vietnam, for instance, the lack of efficient rail transport causes residents to drive vehicles, thereby exacerbating air pollution. Another point to consider is the convenience that enhanced railways would bring. Some might argue that more organised roads would have a positive impact on citizens as they would be able to get around the city more easily by car. However, the development of roads would most likely create congestion due to the increased use of vehicles. Improved railway services, by contrast, would encourage more individuals to take the train, which would reduce the number of cars on the road. Therefore, the allocation of funds to railways would bring a social benefit to society. A good example is Tokyo, where inhabitants and tourists enjoy both convenient rail networks, such as subways, and less congested roads. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government should spend more money on building a better railway in terms of the environmental and social advantages it would give to society. It is crucial that each country strive to create an efficient transportation system.