Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The technologies to monitor people's behaviours have been dramatically developed. This trend causes a new problem of people's privacy. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of those technologies and consider whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages or not. First of all, in most cases, these inventions are introduced as measures to prevent criminals from taking illegal actions such as murders and sales of illegal drugs. Actually, the more security cameras have been set up in our city, the less number of crimes will happen. To prevent such incidents from occurring which harm citizens, we need a sense of being watched by someone. On this point, those technologies have played an important role. However, when it comes to an issue of our privacy, there is a risk that others will abuse the records for wrong purposes such as stalking. Thus, what we need to consider is how we can eliminate the possibility that someone can abuse the information stored in the database. When we compare the positive impact of these technologies on our society to the negative effects, I think that the advantages will outweigh the shortcomings in the sense that they have played an extremely important part in preventing crimes from happening. In conclusion, new technologies to record what people are saying and doing are quite useful to make our society more secure. However, at the same time, there is also a problem that they are used for crimes that they are trying to take away. Therefore, it is ironically necessary for us to consider the ways to stop crimes taking use of them.