Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports play an essential role in developing both mental and physical health as well as maintaining a youthful appearance. Many individuals take part in team sports while others prefer to compete as solo athletes. Personally, I subscribe to the view that team games bring greater benefits to players. On the one hand, people who join team sports have an opportunity to learn various useful skills such as teamwork and cooperation skills, which are necessary for their future career. Sports such as football or basketball teach the players how to work together effectively in a team environment. In particular, each person in the group can also learn how to collaborate with other team members and reach common goals. On the other hand, it is obvious that solo sports also have their advantages. Individual sports such as tennis and swimming are great to stimulate independent thinking and self-confidence. Furthermore, they also encourage people to think quickly and take responsibility for their decisions. According to some research, children playing squads are believed to rely much on their teammates and their success leans on their team ’s effort and cooperation. Hence, they tend to find it hard to make decisions on their own when asked to perform a task given individually. By contrast, people who work alone in games have to try their best to achieve the goal by their self-effort, concentration and hard-working. In conclusion, although solo sports do have their benefits, I am convinced that members of team sports gain more advantages in mental and physical aspects.